Set My Foot Down to the Rhythm

While I run to get healthy (and hopefully keep running to stay healthy), I listen to music because it gives life meaning. When life is good, I listen to music. When life is bad, I listen to music.

And so when I run, I’ve gotten into the habit of listening to music. There’s lots of research that shows it can be beneficial and lots of people swear by it (and there are also some who swear you shouldn’t).

Historically, I’ve haven’t listened to music while I ran, unless it was playing over the gym’s speakers. I just didn’t want to carry an iPod (or iPhone later on) when I was running. Seemed like a good way to break the machinery. Still does, to be honest.

But the Zombies, Run! app means I have to carry my phone on me and it incorporates music, so I got into the habit of listening to music while I ran. It’s been nice. I use my angst playlist for all of my workouts. It’s a big enough list that it doesn’t feel redundant.

When I’ve been doing the 5Ks, though, I’ve been listening to different playlists to change things up. For the first race, I listened to my upbeat list. Worked out great. I don’t listen to that list much, so it was nice to hear those songs on the run. I also listened to that list the second race, but I barely noticed the music. I don’t know why, but it made me want to change my music for the next race. I opted for Vampire Weekend’s Contra album. This worked out great. It’s an upbeat album and the band has very unique music, so it’s hard to get bored listening to just them.

Now I have to figure out what I’m going to do for my next race. I’m leaning toward another album, possibly Alkaline Trio’s Damnesia album. Bad Books, Fun, and Gaslight Anthem are also in the hunt. It’ll be a game-time decision.

And for all that, the real point I think is to update you on my angst playlist and debut the upbeat list to the pulic.

Angst

  • Against Me!
    • Up the Cuts
    • Thrash Unreal
    • White People for Peace
    • Borne on the FM Waves of the Heart
    • White Crosses
    • I was a Teenage Anarchist
  • Alkaline Trio
    • Mercy Me
    • Radio
  • Bad Books
    • You Wouldn’t Have to Ask
    • It Never Stops
    • Baby Shoes
  • Fun
    • Out on the Town
    • Carry On
  • Gaslight Anthem
    • 45
    • Old White Lincoln
  • Hot Water Music
    • Drag My Body
    • The Traps
    • Trusty Chords
    • State of Grace
  • Kevin Devine
    • I Could be with Anyone
  • Spoon
    • The Underdog
  • Trampled by Turtles
    • Wait So Long
  • The White Buffalo
    • How the West Was Won
  • RAC
    • Let Go
  • Yonder Mountain String Band
    • Out of the Blue
  • 2-Pac
    • Changes
  • Flogging Molly
    • Us of Lesser Gods
  • Micky and the Motorcars
    • Follow You Down
    • Million Miles
  • Mumford and Sons
    • Little Lion Man
  • Ryan Bingham
    • Depression
  • Steve Earle
    • Lungs
    • Copperhead Road
    • Devil’s Right Hand
  • Vampire Weekend
    • Giving Up the Gun

Upbeat

  • Tripod
    • Autistic
  • Ida Maria
    • I Like You So Much Better When You’re Naked
  • Tejas Brothers
    • Boogie Woogie Mamacita
    • I Can’t Sleep
  • Pat Green
    • Carry On
    • Take Me Out to the Dancehall
  • Alkaline Trio
    • Clavicle
    • I Held Her In My Arms
  • Vampire Weekend
    • Cousins
    • Giving Up the Gun
    • Horchata
  • Pepper
    • F**k Around
  • Flogging Molly
    • Factory Girls
  • Avett Brothers
    • Geraldine
    • Kick Drum Heart
    • Slight Figure of Speech
  • Steve Earle
    • Guitar Town
  • Kevin Devine
    • I Could Be With Anyone
  • RAC
    • Let Go
  • Against Me!
    • New Wave
  • Fun
    • Out on the Town
    • We Are Young
    • Carry On
  • Kenny Chesney and George Strait
    • Shift Work
  • Ben Harper
    • Steal My Kisses
  • Maxie Priest and Shaggy
    • That Girl
  • Texas Tornados
    • Adios Mexico
  • Gaslight Anthem
    • Old White Lincoln
  • Mumford and Sons
    • Roll Away Your Stone
  • Reckless Kelly
    • Think It Over One Time
Leave a Reply

