Confession No. 78: I’m a judger

*Warning. This is not a let’s all be merry in the jogging community post. If you’re looking for polite, search elsewhere today.

I have a confession to make.

I judge people. A lot. Including other runners. Especially other runners.

The little things seem like the nice place to start.

I judge your form. Oh, do I judge your form.

My favorite was a girl who was cranking her arms like a choo choo train.

I don’t have a good way to describe it without a visual reference. Here arms weren’t just swinging forward and back. She was extending her arm out on the forward motion, and then pulling it back in when her upper arm pulled back.

I also judge the people kicking their legs out to the side. These are more common. You see them pick up their legs and the rotate out (sometimes in). Honestly, when I see this group, they actually seem like they’re in pretty good shape; they’re just running in a completely inefficient fashion that seems bad for you.

And lastly, I judge the trudgers. You know who you are. You might run for 5 miles, but you’re going half a step faster than a walk. Just walk.

Avoiding trudging is one of my few true goals in running. I just don’t see the point. It just seems like added stress on your body without any real benefits. I’d rather have to include walking in my runs if it means that when I’m running, I’m really running, not just trudging.

I saw a couple around their 50s trudging today. I couldn’t stand it. Good for them for being active, but trudging just seems like such a waste. They were jogging away from me. It took them forever to actually pull away from me, and I was in a post-run walk back to the car, so I wasn’t actually blazing up the sidewalk. Each of their steps looked like it was about half of mine.

And yes, I know I’m not supposed to judge other people at all, much less when they’re trying to be active. Good on them for working out. But if you’re going to put in the work, why not put in the work the right way? Why not get the most out of your workout?

I don’t know. I’ll leave it alone now. Rant over. Maybe.

-Q

#ihaterunning

Leave a Reply

