Setting Goals

I’ll keep this brief. I’m considering what goals I should set for next year (can’t accuse me of not thinking ahead). I don’t plan on another Super Awesome Year of the 5K. Sequels rarely live up to the original. That said, I like me a spinoff every now and then (I’m looking at you, Frasier, The Cleveland Show, and That ’80s Show [yeah, I went there]).

With that in mind, I’ve only got two goals that I’m mulling over. The first is upping the distance to try a 10K. I realize for real runners, it doesn’t sound like much, but I’d be trying to keep a respectable time, not just finish. The second is a sub-25 5K.

In terms of comparison, the 10K might be easier from the standpoint of it’s just more of the same. The sub-25, though, allows me to do what I’m doing now, just faster. My workouts won’t actually get longer (I’ve been doing 50- to 60-minute workouts the past few weeks anyway); I just have to run faster (i.e., I just have to run the way I prefer to run but farther than I’m comfortable doing so).

The real trick is that both goals might actually overlap. Getting up to a 10K might give me the endurance to pull off a sub-25 5K, and getting in the chops to pull of the sub-25 might allow me to trudge for a 10K.

All this being said, I’m open to suggestions/thoughts from the rest of the world, even if it’s a different goal altogether.

2 thoughts on “Setting Goals”

  1. It’s never been my thing – but what about obstacle 5Ks? Inflatable, tough mudder types? Ooooh what about the Beer Mile? Also if you get a chance to do a glo run – go for it. Way more fun than I anticipated.

    Like

    1. I have done a mud run and enjoyed it, but not enough to pay those prices and not enough to feel motivated to keep doing them. As for glo run, I might try at some point, but I’m not good at this whole having “fun” thing while running. I may need to work on that.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

