End of July Progress Report

Well, we’re closing out the 7th month of the Super Awesome Year of the 5K, so it seems time for a proper progress report of the year. And I’ve also been slacking on posting, so it seems like a good time for a progress report so I can feel like less of a slacker.

For those of you keeping score at home, we’re through 7 of the 5Ks, and my time is not getting better. In fact, it seems to be getting worse.

That’s not cool.

But I think I know why. Turns out, I’m not running as much. Woops.

I'm not entirely sure what happened in June.
I’m not entirely sure what happened in June.

It’s difficult to get very frustrated when you can see that you’ve been busy being a no account slacker.

But that’s ok. I have been staying active. My daily number of steps has definitely increased since I started this, though I’m not at my pre-move levels in part due to differences of where I’m working.

Steps

And in the past two months, I’ve gotten back into lifting for the first time in 3 years. That’s always a plus.

Of course, the downside is that yoga’s taken a backseat as a result. That’s not good considering yoga’s the most important thing I can do for pain management and the whole “not being in agony every day for no apparent reason” thing.

But again, I’m being fairly active. We’ll have to look at this as a net win, even though I can’t show any measurable gains.

Really, not even weight.

Doing good. Doing good. Hey, what's going on here? What you eating? Put the pizza away. And for God's sake, don't dip it in ranch dressing.
Doing good. Doing good. Hey, what’s going on here? What you eating? Put the pizza away. And for God’s sake, don’t dip it in ranch dressing.

Over the past year, I’ve actually done fairly well. Over the past 6 months, not so much.

I’m optimistic that the lifting and running have been adding muscle, which has been leading to a draw on the scale. But the bags of chips and the numerous pizzas I’ve eaten in the past 10 days beg to differ.

This will be my bad decision for the weekend

A post shared by Quisto Settle (@applications_of_randomness) on

And of course, the big news is that I’m sporting a more aerodynamic haircut now.

Bald is beautiful

A post shared by Quisto Settle (@applications_of_randomness) on

I finally gave into genetics, so now I have to be even more careful about keeping my scalp covered or using sunscreen so I don’t become one of those old guys with a spotty head.

Now let’s shift gears away from the more easily measured to just general lifestyle.

  1. Being active does make a difference. It’s a huge energy suck, so that’s a good thing. At least that’s what I’m telling myself.
  2. I’m doing much better about making sure I get enough rest. The chief difference is I’m being more militant about getting 8 hours of sleep a night. I wasn’t doing a terrible job before in my average amount of sleep, but I have far fewer bad nights of only 5 hours, etc. The big thing was backing the time I started getting ready for bed.
  3. I’m making more conscious food choices. Still not great (e.g., pizza errday) but better than before. I’m making more of an effort to be sure I’m getting vegetables, and I’m on another Coke purge, so hopefully that can stick for a while.
  4. I’m doing my best to make sure I’m doing SOMETHING. Anything. Just trying to make sure I don’t sit around doing my best impression of a retired walrus.

So as we round the corner for the homestretch, I know that I’m doing well even if I’m doing perfectly. And I have a few things I need to be mindful of.

  1. Get back into yoga. I’m going to pay for this sooner than later if I’m not careful. I cannot explain how much better off I am when I’m regularly doing yoga.
  2. Make better food decisions. This is my Achilles heel. I think running entitles me to Popeye’s. I might deserve a freebie every now and then, but I don’t deserve one for every time I work out.
  3. Keep running. I haven’t been great about running, and my mileage has gone down the last couple of months. I can’t expect my times to improve if I’m not putting in my time on the pavement.

So with that, peace out.

-Q

#ihaterunning

Leave a Reply

