My Not-So-Secret Love

I have a confession to make.

I love pickle juice.

Yep. I’m not sure how it started, but I’ve liked pickle juice as long as I can remember.

The first time I can remember the pickle juice was from pickle juice snow cones. I don’t remember wanting the other flavors (I distinctly remember getting coconut and thinking that was cruel and unusual punishment).

It was years before I learned that pickle juice snow cones weren’t actually that normal. I honestly haven’t seen them served since I left my original hometown at 9, though I’m guessing they must still exist. They exist in other parts of Texas than where I was originally from, but I never saw them again.

And now I’m in the South, and people look at my like I’m an alien for drinking pickle juice.

Now what does all of this have to do with running? Well, if you were paying attention in class, you already know.

It’s the sodium (and possibly the vinegar and magnesium).

I was already drinking pickle juice just for fun, but it was in high school in the Texas heat that the football coaches started doing whatever they could to keep us hydrated (there were multiple deaths at football practices in the nation that year). They had us weighing in and out to make sure we hydrated during practice (and would make us stay and drink ’til we stayed within the safe threshold). We were told to carry around bottles of water all day in school. And they recommended drinking pickle juice.

Up until this point, I hadn’t thought of it serving a purpose. And now it had a real purpose. My favorite thing to do now is wait until there’s one pickle left and then save that for my next run. I eat the last pickle and then down the rest of the jar.

I can feel people cringing as they read this.

I don’t recommend it for everyone, but it’s fantastic for me.

Some people hate running. Some people hate pickle juice. I choose to hate the former.

If you haven’t tried it before, go ahead. Unless you’ve got health issues, it probably won’t hurt. And don’t go crazy with it. I’m not drinking a jar of this stuff every day. Just whenever I actually bought pickles for sandwiches or something. And then it’s a treat at the finish line.

I don’t know. Figure out what works for you. I’ve been an excessive heat warning the past few days, and I’ve got a run to make in the next day or two.

-Q

#ihaterunning

Leave a Reply

