Let’s complain about some things

After the last post seemed to actually involve some thought, I thought it was time to return to my roots of complaining about random things.

Today we’ll be complaining about my creaking, old body.

I may not be quite at 30 yet (I’m a very old 29), but pretty sure some parts failed before their warranty was due. Right now, my knee, shoulder, and back are all staging various insurrections.

Let’s start with the knee. Something happened when I was a teenager, and I’ve slowly felt my right knee get comparatively weaker, leading to more reliance on my left knee, which continues to make the left knee stronger than the right.

I never knew what the issue was, but I knew certain things exacerbated things. I can’t leave my knee bent, and there’s a sensitive spot on my kneecap. That said, I also can have all symptoms disappear for weeks at a time, including the kneecap sensitivity.

Finally, I saw a doctor about it and got diagnosed with runner’s knee (well, the more medical sounding name, but Google tells me that’s the same as runner’s knee). This is obnoxious mostly because I suffer from runner’s knee even when I’m not running. The treatment at this point is strengthening some muscles and improving flexibility in others. Hopefully knowing exactly what’s going on will help (of course, if there was a misdiagnosis, the Super Awesome Year of the 5K could get really fun in the middle of a run if something pops that shouldn’t).

Next, let’s talk about my back. I’m sure I’ve bemoaned the aches and pains before. I originally hurt my back as a freshman in high school, but I didn’t realize what I had done until I was done with sports. Once I got inactive, then the aches and pains started. Now I just play a game of maintaining enough activity to avoid pain without causing new types of pain.

This problem is complicated by me working a desk job and having crappy posture. I’ve actually looked into a posture tracker to try to mitigate the problems.

Basically, I’m most days there are aches and pains, but they’re usually manageable. Some days, though, I have no further ambitions than laying on the floor and staying there the rest of the day.

And last, my newest issue: my stupid right shoulder. A couple of weeks ago, I tweaked my shoulder lifting. I noticed it didn’t feel great, but things didn’t seem that far out of the ordinary until I was doing yoga later and the instructor pressed on my shoulders and the right was sore and the left was not.

That’s not supposed to happen.

Sure enough, the next day my shoulder hurt and would continue doing so for the next week, with some pain lingering even after that.

The doctor’s visit didn’t yield much for this issue beyond strengthening rotator cuff to see if it would help.

So long story short, I wrote a post a few days ago and it seemed alright. I couldn’t take leaving things on a good note for so long, therefore I had to complain about things I’ve probably already complained about.

Party on, Wayne.

-Q

#ihaterunning

Leave a Reply

