Focusing on Food

I’ve been neglecting one aspect of my Super Awesome Year of the 5K: Food.

Ok, so maybe I’ve talked about the bad decisions (and possibly glorified in the two slices of pizza, sandwich, cookie, and coke I had after my October 5K, followed by the bacon and egg toaster, tater tots, and coke I had at Sonic when I went home from that race, and chased with two pack of sushi for lunch). But I haven’t really talked as much about cooking.

I’m not going to go into depth right now, but I’ve been playing with my food a bit more (that doesn’t sound very mature).

In the past, I had tried to cook my meals, but I wasn’t focusing so much on being methodical about cooking food that was actually good for me.

If you can read between the lines, I’m about to ruin that ability for you. This blog is about to start taking on components of a cooking blog.

I’ll be honest, I don’t make my own recipes. They’re either from websites that will be sourced or stolen from friends and family that will probably not be sourced.

Now there are a couple of reasons for this. The first is that you can’t outrun your fork.

Result of plagiarizing a phrase and adding a bad drawing. #ihaterunning but #fatty loves to eat.

A post shared by Quisto Settle (@applications_of_randomness) on

I can eat 2,500 calories in a meal without flinching. This is a great power.

with_great_power_comes_great_responsibility_by_itomibhaa-d4lajvl

I have to be careful about what I eat, and cooking gives me control.

The second reason is I just like making crappy food choices. Again, pizza, a sandwich, a cookie, two cokes, tater tots, sushi, and a breakfast toaster is no way to eat before 11 in the morning (yeah, that was all before 11). I have to cook so I can at least attempt to make good choices.

And third, I just need to feed myself. It’s a pretty straightforward issue. There are few things in my wheelhouse, but I’m trying to expand my options.

So here’s a preview of things to come: chicken and dumplings (and the alternate version with tofu), red beans and rice, sushi (when I’m not buying the shady kind in the grocery store), and a whole lot of slight adaptations from http://www.skinnytaste.com/

I hope you enjoy the tweak. If not, I don’t really care. I’m not writing this for you. I’m writing this for… Someone. Probably me. I’m not sure. I never read this stuff.

-Q

#ihaterunning

Leave a Reply

