Lack of Originality – Whoops

I like to think I’m original. I really do. I think I look at the world in my own little weird way, and so I think when I set up my challenges I must have been the first to have done so.

Nope.

Do you want the real kicker? I’ve seen this video before. I just forgot about it.

So I’m not original. But neither is he. He said he’d gotten it from Morgan Spurlock. Whose movies I’ve seen. Again, whoops.

I thought I was ripping off Gretchen Rubin and the Buzzfeed Life/Change series. And I was. But I was also ripping off a Google engineer and a very well-known documentarian. Side note, I wasn’t entirely sure documentarian was a word until I typed it and no red line showed up on the screen. That’s winning folks.

But let’s get back on track. What am I to do with the realization that I was ripping off more people than I thought I was? Nothing really. There’s nothing to be done. Heck, I’d like to think my goals were at least original, but I know they weren’t either. In the last 20 minutes, I’ve seen 3 of my goals pop up randomly on Reddit, and there’s nothing to be done about it. Just because someone else is doing it, doesn’t mean it’s any less meaningful for me to.

Plus I have a blog (wait, one of those Reddit posts was to someone’s WordPress blog; merde).

Oh well. Live and let live.

One thought on “Lack of Originality – Whoops”

Leave a Reply

