Enchiladas, burrito bowl, and red beans and rice recipes

In diving into the no refined grains month, I’m having to lean heavily on my slim cooking abilities. I wanted to share the first 3 recipes I used (and how I adulterated two of them).

Enchiladas, beans, and rice

This one is a multi-parter. I have different modifications I make.

Ingredients

  • 1-2 cans of refried or black beans (or refried black beans)
  • Enchiladas
    • 12 corn tortillas
    • 10-oz can of enchilada sauce (or the alternative I used if you’re ducking corn starch)
    • 8 oz of Mexican blend cheese
  • Rice
    • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
    • 1 cp white or brown rice (Uncle Ben’s brown rice works the best if you go that route)
    • 2 tomatoes (or 4 plum tomatoes)
    • Small onion
    • 2.25 cps of chicken broth (2.5 if you use brown rice)
    • Garlic, cumin, black pepper, and salt to taste

Start the rice first. Heat skillet to medium heat (low-medium for brown rice). Add rice, stirring every 3-4 minutes until golden brown (for brown rice, just stir for a couple of minutes and stop before kernels start burning). Add remaining ingredients, cover, and simmer for 15 minutes (30 for Uncle Ben’s brown rice; 45-60 minutes for other brown rice varieties). Remove from heat, let sit 5 minutes, and fluff with fork.

While the rice is cooking, preheat oven to 350. Layer six tortillas on bottom of 13 x 9 pan. Spread most of cheese over the tortillas. Cover with remaining tortillas. Pour enchilada sauce over tortillas, and sprinkle on remaining cheese. Cover with aluminum foil and cook for 15-20 minutes (until cheese is melted).

For the beans, heat them up and eat them.

Alternatively, you can make it more of a casserole, which works good if you’re going to need an easy way to handle leftovers. Cook the rice the same. When you start with enchiladas, put the rice over the first layer of tortillas, then the beans (no need to cook, but you can if you want it to spread a little easier), then most of the cheese, second layer of tortillas, sauce, and remaining cheese. Cook the same amount of time in the oven. This version is better for putting in plastic containers if you’re splicing out individual meals.

Burrito bowl

The base of this was stolen from a work event on health promotion, so I don’t know who the real source is, though my best guess is the presenter, Mandy Conrad.

Ingredients

  • 16 ounces of chicken
  • Can of black beans
  • 2 tbsp of cilantro
  • Can of corn
  • Garlic, chili powder, salt, and black pepper to taste
  • 2 tbsp of lime juice
  • 3 cp spinach
  • 1 cp of quinoa

Cook the chicken (I did it in a slow cooker and then shredded it) and quinoa (I used a rice cooker). Mix everything together in a big bowl. You’re done. Wasn’t that easy?

Red beans and rice

This one was taken from a friend who is much better at setting up websites than me (re: not nearly as lazy as me). I’m going to give you what I cooked this weekend, so technically this is red beans and quinoa.

  • 12-16 ounces of andouille sausage (sliced; Trader Joe’s has a chicken jalapeño sausage that actually works better but isn’t as widely available).
  • 2 can of red beans (drained)
  • 1 onion (chopped)
  • Garlic to taste
  • 1 large and 1 small can of tomato sauce
  • 1 cp of quinoa (or rice)
  • 1 jalapeño (chopped)
  • 1 bunch of green onions (chopped)
  • Other seasonings as desired

Start cooking quinoa (or rice). In large pot, sauté sausage and onions. Add everything else and reduce to simmer. Add quinoa after its cooked to the mixture.

The adulteration

When I cooked the burrito bowl, I skimped on seasonings. When I work with garlic and chili powder, I’m always afraid I’m going to overdo it. As a result, the first meal tasted healthy but palatable. I resolved to add the red beans and rice to it since they had such similar ingredients.

It was the smartest thing I’ve done in a long time. I ended up with a mix of the two recipes and a lot of dirty dishes. Totally worth it.

1 thought on “Enchiladas, burrito bowl, and red beans and rice recipes”

Leave a Reply

