Update on the Super Awesome Month of Yoga

The primary goal of this month has been to get my back pain in check. So far, mission accomplished. I haven’t had as many flareups and twinges as I’ve been getting used to, which is impressive when you consider that I have a 4-mile, and 5-mile, and 6-mile run thrown into the past three weeks. Those should have eaten me alive.

The other victory this month has been my total avoidance of taking pictures of me in yoga poses. Of course, this might be more due to the fact that I don’t look fantastic in the poses that require flexibility, but I look like a boss in plank, chaturanga, warrior II, and crow. Yeah, I can do crow. What’s it to you?

If you look at the beginning picture, you’ll see little C’s on some of the days. Those mean I was in class. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to attend class as often as I’d like. It’s a mix of schedule and class preferences. Unfortunately, those issues aren’t going away this month, so I’m stuck practicing on my own a lot of the remaining ten days. That said, hopefully I can do a better job of practicing Ashtanga on my own more often. It’s a more vigorous practice and doesn’t put me in weird positions that a Vinyasa class would.

Long term, I think I have to keep this habit up. With my back behaving as well as it has been under otherwise less than ideal situations, this kind of shows this path is necessary. Stretching the PT gave me was ok, but left out core strength, which yoga decidedly does not omit. The goal is to work yoga into my daily routine as much as possible, even when I can’t take classes. Short sessions are better than nothing. If I can make it a regular part of my life like I did with oatmeal, I’ll consider it a win.

The Super Awesome Year was about doing things that would help me out if I did them more. Success isn’t as solid as I’d like for building long-term habits, but there have been some victories. I’ve cut my soda habit down to one or two a week, which is astounding. I’ve been doing a better job of reading and playing guitar because I know those months are coming up, and I’ve been more mindful of integrating those into my day. I’ve completely fallen off the no refined grains wagon. That month may have done more harm than good at the end of the day, but hopefully I can stop making terrible food decisions. I’m closing in on the halfway point, and I’m forcing myself through a lot of self-inflicted willpower exercises. I’m not sure if this was the best decision at the end of the day, but we’ll keep trying until we fail, and when we fail, we’ll keep trying anyway.

With that, I bid you adieu.

-Q

P.S. In the aftermath of surviving the 10K, I think I’m going to try to make 5-milers a regular part of my running routine. We’ll see how long I think that’s a good idea.

Leave a Reply

