Going Back to the Start

I fell off the wagon. And then I got on the couch and ate a few dozen slices of pizza (that actually might be an underestimation).

Where do we start?

Let’s start at the beginning. I was born in the mid ’80s.

Maybe not that beginning.

In May, I ran a 10K. It was glorious. I didn’t die. That was kind of my goal (and very tragically, there actually was a death that day; someone died during the half 9 miles in).

I was in the midst of my yoga month, so I kept up with that. I actually did a pretty good job of keeping up with my yoga practice overall. I was good for typically 2 sessions a week, which is enough for basic maintenance.

My running however…

I wasn’t terrible at the beginning. I was getting in at least one run a week, but I wasn’t where I ought to be. And then by body staged a revolution.

Twice, I had non-starts, which led to a doctor’s visit (I got the OK to run, so no worries; I also got to test the accuracy of my running watch’s HR monitor, and it was always within a couple of beats if not spot-on, so at least I know that was a good buy).

And now where am I? I haven’t made a full run in 6 weeks. I haven’t crossed 2 miles since at least June.

So I signed up for a 5K a month from now. I have issues. As Gnarls Barkley said,

And much like my Super Awesome Year on the 5K, I’m going to go after a 5K whether I’m ready or not. Next year, I’ll probably make a goal to do at least 6 5Ks just to keep me on track.

“How are you going to do this?” you might ask.

Well first, thank you for inquiring. It’s always nice to be asked. Second, I’m going back to the start.

I’m tracking back almost two years to when I started this whole mess (and blog), and I’m using the Zombies, Run! 5K app. I’ll already know the story, but the 5K app is better about easing you into the process than the full version. And it’ll be interesting to see how I progress compared to my existing markers. Last time, I was starting from basically scratch (as in winded walking for 10 minutes scratch). Now, I might not be able to run nearly as well as I could 3 months ago, but I can walk at least 20 minutes.

But we’ll see how it goes.

-Q

Leave a Reply

