Discovering a New Brand That’s Having Fun

Tragedy struck on Wednesday:

#ihaterunning so much I broke my newish glasses

A post shared by Quisto Settle (@applications_of_randomness) on

I broke my running glasses, and my spare pair, which the broken glasses replaced because of a growing crack in a lens, were left at home.

I manned up and went for my run without my glasses. Luckily, I had my cap, my eyes aren’t sensitive to the sun (I mostly wear them to prevent UV damage over the long-term), and the clouds showed up eventually to keep from the worst of things.

In the process of complaining to the digital community, Slim T directed me to a brand a friend of hers had tried: goodr.

Until I actually get the glasses and can try them out, I can’t make a final evaluation, but right now I love this brand.

I’m not in the know on styles of sunglasses, so this might not be the most accurate description, but they’re basically the Wayfarer-style frames built for running. And then they spend all of their time trashing regular running glasses. It’s fantastic.

I actually didn’t buy a true pair of workout sunglasses until a few months ago when I picked up the now-busted sunglasses to replace my cracked pair. And the reason I didn’t already own true running sunglasses: They looked atrocious.

There is a hatred inside me for the traditional running/active sunglasses out there, like the overly large Oakleys that were everwhere in the mid-to-late ’90s. You know the ones. You either had the ones that looked like alien bug eyes.

Or you had those Oakleys that looked like you were about to run a triathlon (worn primarily by suburban dads watching their kids play pee-wee football).

They didn’t look nice, and as far as I’m concerned, most running sunglasses don’t. It’s possible that I also felt like I looked like an asshole in them, so that could be affecting my viewpoint.

My first pair of running sunglasses weren’t running sunglasses. They were Oakleys (tasteful ones, thank you very much), but they aren’t ones that the Oakley company designated for active use. But here’s the thing: They fit snug as a bug and ended up being great to run in when I finally got brave.

The problem was my bravery was late in their life cycle, which meant two things: I shortened their functional use and only had a limited amount of time with them as running glasses.

When it came time to replace them, I couldn’t make myself drop a Benjamin on another pair of sunglasses. Turns out that was a bit of a one-time splurge for me. They were great sunglasses, but $100 is $100.

I went cheap, and they only lasted a few months (including a good chunk of time where I wasn’t avidly running).

This gets us back to goodr. They have a sextet of sunglasses available for $25 each (or $125 for all 6 pairs).

In terms of aesthetics, they have an interesting site. Pretty well built, and it’s simple.

But it’s not the outward appearance of the site that intrigued me the most. It was what the populated the content with.

Here’s the short version of their sunglass options (but diving into their site is totally worth it):

  • A blue pair with yellow lenses called Sunbathing With Wizards (this is the pair I ended up buying)
  • An obnoxiously orange pair with blue lenses called Donkey Goggles (I’m dangerously close to getting these hideous things because I’m a University of Florida grad. #GoGators)
  • Pink with blue lenses called Flamingos on a Booze Cruise
  • White with blue lenses called Iced by Yetis
  • Black with yellow lenses called Whiskey Shots with Satan (this was my almost pick just because they would be more in line with my normal non-beacon sunglass choices)
  • And yellow with blue lenses called Swedish Meatball Hangover (which really does go quite well with the Swedish flag).

Most of the pairs have a background story to justify the name without being based in an ounce of fact. The website is a good piece of entertainment if nothing else. They spend all their time insulting regular running sunglasses and making light of their own products.

It’s fantastic.

I dove around some more and somehow ended up on their Twitter page (I still have no idea how I ended up there) and found a preview for a Kickstarter page (they have a live ThunderClapIt page to promote the Kickstarter, but the Kickstarter isn’t live yet).

The Kickstarter is so they can expand their line by 22 more color combinations. If nothing else, visit the Kickstarter to watch their video. They spend half the page on the product and half the page insulting regular running sunglasses, especially in the video. The page is in such a state of transition, I’ve actually seen it change from when I looked at it 8 hours ago, so it could be live very soon.

My pair of goodr glasses arrive next week, so I’m hoping they arrive soon enough to test and see if I want to contribute to the Kickstarter. There are some good deals that would allow me to pick up spare sunglasses. That said, if the first pair don’t survive actual runs comfortably, this will end up being a lot of hype and anticipation that just leads to a big letdown. I’m looking at you Batman V. Superman.

Oh well. Take a look when you get the chance. Could be an interesting brand to watch long-term. They do have non-sunglass items if you’re interested in that instead.

-Q

#ihaterunning

Leave a Reply

