Injury Update & Return to Yoga

When we last left our hero, he had found indications of bipartite patella or kneecap fracture and was anxiously awaiting the results of his MRI.

Setting: Mississippi in the late teens. Our protagonist is sitting on his couch in a knee brace and typing on a computer. The air conditioner is running because of course it is. Light indie music plays in the background.

Scene:

The MRI came back with no real bad issues. There was some fluid, but nothing was out of place beyond what the X-Rays’ already showed. The recommendation was surgery (both options didn’t sound pleasant, even for surgery). I of course chickened out and asked to try physical therapy first. Low risk but low probability of success. But no knife. Doc OK’d it, so I got sent to their PT staff to get a knee brace and then set up my PT appointment in my own town.

Here’s the thing about the knee brace: He didn’t tell me why I needed it when I was pretty much ok moving around. I ended up asking the PT and didn’t get that clear of an answer. Basically it sounds like if I’m walking around on uneven ground (i.e., hiking) I should wear it. I’m not hiking.

But I have the knee brace, and I had my first PT appointment today. It was fun. Got some normal stretches and then a couple of weird exercises, and then they zapped my leg for 15 minutes. I got to do some light reading. All good.

Then I got to the realness: Could I start doing yoga again? The doc was hesitant. He wanted me to ease into it. I wanted no such thing. I did a round of the warm-up for Ashtanga and survived. That was the hard part, so I thought asking couldn’t hurt.

And the PT gave me the ok.

As long as I didn’t do anything stupid, I was allowed to do it. Benefit outweighed the risk to him. Awesome dude. Also awesome that he was OK with me not wearing the knee brace as a default since I was already on the mend.

And how long did I wait to go to yoga? Almost 10 hours.

I’ve been going half insane the past few weeks. I couldn’t even do planks in the early stage because me knee was hurting that much.

I went to my Ashtanga class prepared to behave and make accommodations. It wasn’t easy, and because I couldn’t really do anything while my knee was hurting, even my upper body was not really in the game. There were some minor twinges, and my yoga teacher watched me like a hawk to make sure I was OK, but everything was all good. I had to sit out a couple of things, but I was able to do something most of the time.

And tomorrow’s going to be rough. Ashtanga is Sanskrit for “this is gonna hurt” (it’s a stupid joke I’ve been making for over a year, but I still love it; related, I made the joke originally in this post from the first time I did the class. It usually shows up on the first page of the Google search when you look for thank you note for yoga teacher. It’s kept a steady flow of traffic to the blog from people sincerely looking to write their yoga teacher a thank you note while I was being snarkily sincere about appreciating an all-over soreness from the workout. I should add a postscript apologizing to the people looking for real advice).

I also have to contend with the weird leg exercises that got muscles I objectively knew were there but rarely feel activated. That’s going to cause some odd soreness, but it’s finally looking up for our hero.

Leave a Reply

